Digital Health

made in Essen

  • 5 professorships in the field of Medical AI
  • 14 hospital sites
  • 1800 companies in health care and social services
  • 48800 employees work for patients and companies of the health sector

ESSEN

From the digital waiting room to the smart hospital

Harnessing AI to provide individualized medicinE

Essen is one of the most important medical and health care locations in Germany with research and patient care at the highest international level. Here, professionals from science and industry as well as medical care are working together on the crucial future areas of smart hospitals, artificial intelligence and digitalization. This is where the technological trends are set that will revolutionize health care and improve prevention, diagnostics and therapy.

THE FACTS:

HEALTH SECTOR
IN ESSEN

  • 14 hospital sites organized in 4 networks
  • 5,500 hospital beds
  • 1,300 resident doctors and dentists
  • 750,000 patients from Germany and abroad are treated in Essen every year
  • 48,800 employees work for patients and companies of the health sector
  • 1,800 companies in health care and social services

The 2021 investment campaign

Essen is consolidating its position as one of the most important and innovative healthcare locations in Germany and Europe.

€63 million was invested in a technically sophisticated new building with state-of-the-art digital surgical technology for the surgery centre for ophthalmology and ENT medicine at Essen University Hospital. Here, Essen University Hospital has opened the three-story surgery centre with eight operating rooms comprising of around 7,000 m².

Twelve million euros are being invested in the new four-story building for the recently opened Centre for Rare Lung Diseases at the Ruhrland Clinic. The foundation stone has already been laid. The majority of the project is being funded by the Ministry of Health.

Alfried Krupp Hospital in Essen-Steele has invested €7 million and thus continuing its investment activities.

Digital Health

STORYS from companies in Essen

HERE IS THE
HEALTHCARE
REVOLUTIONIZED

OUR RECIPE FOR THE FUTURE: DIGITALIZATION

With around 48,800 employees subject to social insurance contributions, the healthcare industry is the strongest sector in Essen. Beyond the area of medical care, it is the approximately 1,800 companies in the health and social services sector that drive employment development in this sector and make the world a little healthier every day with their products and services. One of these companies is opta data. For more than 50 years, the family-run group of companies headquartered in Essen, Germany, has been developing custom-fit services and digital solutions for everyday operations in a wide range of healthcare sectors – with the goal of providing the best possible support for its more than 60,000 customers. More than 2,700 dedicated employees also offer bank-independent financing, digital communication products and targeted telemarketing. As an innovation leader, opta data is actively shaping the digitization of healthcare and is the market leader in the field of telematics infrastructure.

Factsheet Health Sector

Download
% buffered 00:00
00:00
00:00
Essen – Location for healthcare, medical research and health management

Your contact persons

Daniel
Adler

Contact person →

Daniel Adler

Head of Innovation

Winfried
Book

Contact person →

Winfried Book

Health Management

Claudia
Anders

Contact person →

Claudia Anders

Assistance

Health

made in Essen

  • 5 Professuren im Bereich KI in der Medizin
  • 14 Klinikstandorte
  • 1800 Unternehmen im Gesundheits- und Sozialwesen
  • 48800 SV-Beschäftigte in der Gesundheitswirtschaft

ESSEN

VOM DIGITALEN WARTEZIMMER ZUM SMART HOSPITAL

MIT KI ZUR MENSCHLICHEreN PATIENTENVERSORGUNG

Essen ist einer der bedeutendsten Medizin- und Gesundheitsstandorte in Deutschland mit Forschung und Versorgung auf internationalem Spitzenniveau. Hier arbeiten die Akteur*innen aus Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft sowie der medizinischen Versorgung gemeinsam an den entscheidenden Zukunftsthemen Smart Hospital, Künstliche Intelligenz und Digitalisierung. Hier werden die technologischen Trends gesetzt, die das Gesundheitswesen revolutionieren und Prävention, Diagnostik und Therapie besser werden lassen.

DIE FAKTEN:

Gesundheitswirtschaft
IN ESSEN

  • 14 Klinikstandorte organisiert in 4 Verbünden
  • 5.500 Krankenhausbetten
  • 1.300 niedergelassene Ärzte & Zahnärzte
  • 750.000 Patient*innen aus dem In- und Ausland werden jährlich in Essen behandelt
  • 48.800 SV-Beschäftigte arbeiten für Patient*innen sowie für Unternehmen der Gesundheitswirtschaft
  • 1.800 Unternehmen im Gesundheits- und Sozialwesen

Die Investitionsoffensive 2021

Essen festigt seine Position als einer der bedeutendsten und innovativsten Gesundheitsstandorte in Deutschland und Europa.

63 Mio. € wurden in den technisch anspruchsvollen Neubau mit modernster digitaler OP-Technik für das neue OP-Zentrum für Augen- und HNO-Heilkunde am Universitätsklinikum Essen investiert. Die Universitätsmedizin Essen hat hier das dreigeschossige OP-Zentrum mit acht OP-Sälen auf rund 7.000 m² Fläche eröffnet.

Zwölf  Mio. € fließen in den viergeschossigen Neubau für das neue Zentrum für seltene Lungenerkrankungen an der Ruhrlandklinik. Der Grundstein ist bereits gelegt. Gefördert wird der Großteil des Projektes vom Gesundheitsministerium.

Sieben Mio. € investiert das Alfried Krupp Krankenhaus in Essen-Steele und setzt damit seine Investitionstätigkeit verstärkt fort.

Factsheet Gesundheitswirtschaft

Zum Download
% buffered 00:00
00:00
00:00
Der Medizin- und Gesundheitsstandort Essen

Health

STORYS Essener Unternehmen

HIER WIRD DAS
GESUNDHEITSWESEN
REVOLUTIONIERT

UNSER REZEPT FÜR DIE ZUKUNFT: DIGITALISIERUNG

Mit rund 48.800 sozialversicherungspflichtig Beschäftigten ist die Gesundheitswirtschaft die stärkste Branche in Essen. Über den Bereich der medizinischen Versorgung hinaus sind es die rund 1.800 Unternehmen im Gesundheits- und Sozialwesen, die die Beschäftigungsentwicklung auf diesem Sektor antreiben und mit ihren Produkten und Dienstleistungen die Welt jeden Tag ein bisschen gesünder machen. Eines dieser Unternehmen ist opta data. Die familiengeführte Unternehmensgruppe mit Hauptsitz in Essen entwickelt seit über 50 Jahren passgenaue Services und digitale Lösungen für den betrieblichen Alltag in verschiedensten Bereichen des Gesundheitswesens – mit dem Ziel, die mehr als 60.000 Kund*innen bestmöglich zu unterstützen. Über 2.700 engagierte Mitarbeiter*innen bieten darüber hinaus bankenunabhängige Finanzierungen, digitale Kommunikationsprodukte oder gezieltes Telefonmarketing. Als Innovationsführer gestaltet opta data die Digitalisierung des Gesundheitswesens aktiv mit und ist Marktführer auf dem Gebiet der Telematikinfrastruktur.

Mehr zum Thema Gesundheit

am Standort Essen

Ihre Ansprechpartner*innen

Daniel
Adler

Ansprechpartner*in →

Daniel Adler

Leiter Innovation

Winfried
Book

Ansprechpartner*in →

Winfried Book

Gesundheitswirtschaft

Claudia
Anders

Ansprechpartner*in →

Claudia Anders

Assistenz