E360°

  • 42 % green space
  • 343285 employed persons
  • 1 UNESCO World Heritage Site

Whether pulsating city life or idyllic nature, whether modern metropolis or historical flair, whether shopping or visiting a museum – its diversity makes the city so lovable and livable: Essen is an economic, service and commercial centre. It is also an university, trade fair and shopping city as well as the European Green Capital 2017 and much more – in short: a metropolis with many qualities.

This makes the city of Essen the ideal location to work, live and enjoy. Attractive employers and comparatively low costs for the excellent housing, leisure and local amenities ensure a high quality of life.

You can put down roots here – in the heart of the Ruhr Metropole.

 

42 % green space
592160 inhabitants of the city of Essen
22985 companies

UNESCO
WORLD
HERITAGE SITE

Zollverein Coal Mine Industrial Complex

TENTH
LARGEST

CITY in

Germany
343285 people are employed in Essen
20 MIN. to the nearest international airport
9 OF THE 100

largest companies

in Germany

AT A GLANCE:

location advantages
city of essen

  • Central location
  • Optimal accessibility
  • Large customer, sales and labour base potential
  • Attractive employment market
  • High quality of life
  • Affordable housing
  • Extensive educational opportunities
  • Variety of cultural and recreational possibilities

corporate location
essen

Essen is a top business location with numerous corporations, an efficient and internationally oriented SME sector, innovative start-ups, six universities and around 25 research institutes, leading international trade fairs, strong high-tech sectors and excellent infrastructure. This is where business gets done.

Essen as a business location is home to many of Germany’s major companies.
Three DAX-listed companies, E.ON, RWE and Brenntag, and two MDAX companies, Evonik Industries and thyssenkrupp, have their headquarters in Essen. In addition, ALDI Nord, HOCHTIEF, Schenker, NOWEDA, DEICHMANN, STEAG, Galeria Karstadt Kaufhof, FUNKE MEDIENGRUPPE and MEDION are other companies which are major national and international players. In total, 9 of the 100 companies with the highest turnover in Germany have their headquarters in Essen.

Essen is not only the home of global corporations, but also of hidden champions such as ifm electronic, opta data and ista, which with their innovative products and services are among the leading companies in their respective sectors both nationally and internationally.

industries & 
economic dynamics

A strong and important local economic driver is the energy industry, but the health industry is also significant with around 48,800 employees. Essen is one of the most important and innovative medical and health locations in Germany and Europe.
In addition, other growth and future-oriented industries are strongly represented in Essen. Manufacturing (electrical engineering, chemicals or mechanical engineering) and the service sector (business service providers, ICT) are both significant contributors to the local economy.

service sector 
location

85.0 %
of employees subject to social insurance contributions in Essen work in the service sector.

21.1 %
of employees subject to social insurance contributions in Essen have earned an academic degree – far above the state (17.0 %) and national average (18.3 %).

more from the 
salary

1 st place out of 30

According to the latest cost report by the job exchange StepStone, the large corporations in the Ruhr metropolis ensure a relatively high wage level with a comparatively low cost of living. This puts Essen in first place in a comparison of the 30 largest cities in Germany.

industrial identity 
– without nostalgia

A strong industrial core, supported by small and medium-sized businesses, is the driving force behind a city that has always had an industrial character. The economic backbone is formed by the construction industry, the energy sector, the metal and electrical industry as well as mechanical and plant engineering.

45811 employed persons
38912 of whom are employees subject to social insurance contributions

Essen has undergone fundamental change in recent decades: nostalgia has turned into identity; change has become innovation.
Essen is home to around 200 industrial companies and skilled craft firms. The manufacturing industry employs a total of about 45,800 people, 38,900 of whom are subject to social insurance contributions. Even though the service sector is many times over the largest sector in Essen, heavy industry, with its high productivity, has a significant influence on the value added in Essen. The gross value added of heavy industry accounts for around 20 percent of the total value added in Essen.

In Essen, industry is the driving force for the development of other future-oriented sectors and new lead markets such as health, ICT technologies, energy technology and resource efficiency.

trade fair
and 
congress
location

Essen enjoys an excellent reputation as a trade fair and congress location both domestically and internationally. This is ensured by the Messe Essen exhibition centres and the numerous other congress and conference venues in the city.

To Messe Essen >

At a glance:

advantages fair and 
congress location

  • Around 55 different trade fairs – including 10 leading international trade fairs – with twelve satellite events abroad
  • Approx. 1.5 million guests from over 160 nations every year
  • Around 15,000 exhibitors from 90 nations with a foreign share of almost 40 % at the Essen trade fair venue
  • An exhibition area of 110,000 m² and 20,000 m² outdoor area
  • Three congress centres with 28 congress rooms for up to 1,000 people, in which around 800 events with 80,000 participants take place every year
  • Grugahalle: 70 events (concerts, shows, conferences, festive evenings, sporting events, annual general meetings) with up to 10,000 people and more than 200,000 guests annually

Essen as
conference
location 

In Essen you will find the perfect conference venue for your company – whether digital, hybrid or a face-to-face event.
A large number of attractive event locations and hotels await you, which are ideal for holding large congresses and conferences as well as other exclusive events.
Enquire now!

Jetzt anfragen!

european
green
capital

Essen is a green metropolis and maintains its reputation as an urban centre with a high amenity value due also to the large proportion of local recreation areas spread over the entire city area. Parks, nature reserves, forests, lakes and other open spaces account for almost half of the city’s area. Essen’s green side has not escaped the attention of the European Commission. In June 2015, the EU Environment Commission awarded Essen the title ″European Green Capital 2017″.

The EU Environment Commission awarded Essen with the title:

european
capital
of culture

From A for Aalto Theatre to Z for Zollverein UNESCO World Heritage Site – the wealth of cultural highlights extends from the north to the south of the city. It is no coincidence that Essen was awarded the honorary title of ″European Capital of Culture 2010″ on behalf of the entire Ruhr region.

visitessen.de >

city
centre

Essen was the first city in Germany to have a pedestrian zone – that was in 1927. Today, over 1,000 shops and department stores characterise the city centre around the two main pedestrian zones on the Kettwiger Straße and Limbecker Straße. The selection ranges from small and owner-managed specialty shops in addition to the large national and international chains to the Rathaus Galerie and Limbecker Platz shopping centres. The latter is one of the largest inner-city shopping centres in Germany with 70,000 m² of retail space and more than 200 shops and restaurants.

% buffered 00:00
00:00
00:00
Visit Essen
If you want to find out more about Essen as a cultural and tourist location, then take a look here:
visitessen.de
Services and offices of the city of Essen can be found here:
Contact
persons

E360°

  • 42 % Grünfläche
  • 343331 Erwerbstätige
  • 1 UNESCO-Welterbe

Ob pulsierendes Großstadtleben oder die Idylle der Natur, ob moderne Metropole oder historisches Flair, ob Shoppen oder Museumsbesuch – es ist die Vielfalt, die Essen so liebens- und lebenswert macht. Essen ist Wirtschafts-, Dienstleistungs- und Handelszentrum. Essen ist auch Universitäts- und Messestadt sowie Grüne Hauptstadt Europas 2017 und noch viel mehr – eine Metropole mit vielen Qualitäten.

Damit ist Essen der ideale Standort zum Arbeiten, Wohnen und Leben. Attraktive Arbeitgeber und vergleichsweise niedrige Kosten für die hervorragenden Wohn-, Freizeit- und Nahversorgungsmöglichkeiten sorgen für ein hohes Maß an Lebensqualität. 

Hier können Sie Wurzeln schlagen. Hier im Herzen der Metropole Ruhr.

 

42 % Grünfläche
592160 Einwohner*innen
22985 Unternehmen

UNESCO
WELTERBE

Zeche Zollverein

ZEHNT
GRÖSSTE
STADT

Deutschlands
343331 Erwerbstätige
20 MIN. zum Internationalen Flughafen
9 DER 100

Grössten Unternehmen

Deutschlands

AUF EINEN BLICK:

Standortvorteile
STADT ESSEN

  • zentrale Lage
  • optimale Erreichbarkeit
  • großes Kunden,- Absatz- und Arbeitskräftepotenzial
  • attraktiver Arbeitsmarkt
  • hohe Lebensqualität
  • bezahlbarer Wohnraum
  • zahlreiche Bildungangebote
  • viele Kultur- und Freizeitmöglichkeiten

KONZERNSTANDORT
ESSEN

Essen ist Top-Wirtschaftsstandort mit zahlreichen Konzernen, einem leistungsfähigen und international ausgerichteten Mittelstand, innovativen Start-ups, sechs Hochschulen und rund 25 Forschungseinrichtungen. Hier finden internationale Leitmessen statt, hier wird Business gemacht.

Der Wirtschaftsstandort Essen ist Heimat für viele der umsatzstärksten deutschen Unternehmen. Mit E.ON, RWE und Brenntag haben drei DAX-Konzerne und mit thyssenkrupp und Evonik zwei MDAX-Konzerne ihren Hauptsitz in Essen. Hinzu kommen mit ALDI Nord, HOCHTIEF, Schenker, NOWEDA, DEICHMANN, STEAG, Galeria Karstadt Kaufhof, FUNKE MEDIENGRUPPE und MEDION weitere Unternehmen, die national und international zu den großen Playern gehören. Insgesamt haben 9 der 100 umsatzstärksten Unternehmen Deutschlands ihren Hauptsitz in Essen.

Essen ist nicht nur die Heimat von Weltkonzernen, sondern auch von Hidden Champions wie ifm electronic, opta data oder ista, die mit ihren innovativen Produkten und Dienstleistungen national und international zu den führenden Unternehmen ihrer Branche gehören.

BRANCHEN &
ÖKONOMISCHE DYNAMIK

Die Energiewirtschaft ist ein starker Wirtschaftsmotor vor Ort. Essen ist auch einer der bedeutendsten und innovativsten Gesundheitsstandorte in Deutschland und Europa, mit rund 48.800 sozialversicherungspflichtig Beschäftigten. 
Daneben sind weitere Wachstums- und Zukunftsbranchen stark vertreten – sowohl im verarbeitenden Gewerbe (Elektrotechnik, Chemie oder Maschinenbau) als auch im Dienstleistungssektor (Unternehmensdienstleister, IKT).

Dienstleistungs-
STANDORT

85,0 %
der sozialversicherungspflichtig Beschäftigten in Essen arbeiten im Dienstleistungssektor

21,0 %
der sozialversicherungspflichtig Beschäftigten haben einen akademischen Abschluss. Damit hat Essen die höchste Akademiker*innenquote im Ruhrgebiet und liegt über dem Landes- (16,8 %) und dem Bundesdurchschnitt (18,1 %).

MEHR VOM
GEHALT

1 Platz von 30

Laut des aktuellen Kostenreports der Jobbörse StepStone sorgen die großen Konzerne in Essen für ein relativ hohes Lohnniveau bei vergleichsweise niedrigen Lebenshaltungskosten. Damit belegt die Ruhrmetropole im Vergleich der 30 größten Städte Deutschlands den ersten Platz.

INDUSTRIE-IDeNTITÄT
– OHNE NOSTALGIE

Ein starker industrieller Kern, getragen vom Mittelstand, ist der Treiber einer seit jeher industriell geprägten Stadt. Das wirtschaftliche Rückgrat bilden Baugewerbe, Energiewirtschaft, Metall- und Elektroindustrie sowie Maschinen- und Anlagenbau.

45900 Erwerbstätige im Produzierenden Gewerbe
38200 SV-Beschäftigte im Produzierenden Gewerbe

Essen hat in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten einen fundamentalen Wandel erlebt: Aus Nostalgie ist Identität geworden, aus Wandel werden Innovationen. Rund 200 Industrieunternehmen und produzierende Handwerksbetriebe sind in Essen beheimatet. Insgesamt beschäftigt das Produzierende Gewerbe rund 45.900 Erwerbstätige, davon rund 38.200 sozialversicherungspflichtig Beschäftigte. Auch wenn der Dienstleistungsbereich der um ein Vielfaches größere Sektor in Essen ist, prägt die Industrie mit ihrer hohen Produktivität wesentlich die Wertschöpfung in Essen. Die industrielle Bruttowertschöpfung macht rund 20 Prozent der Gesamtwertschöpfung in Essen aus.

In Essen ist die Industrie treibende Kraft für die Entwicklung weiterer Zukunftsbranchen und neuer Leitmärkte wie Gesundheit, IuK-Technologien, Energietechnik und Ressourceneffizienz.

MESSE– UND
KONGRESS-
STANDORT

Essen genießt als Messe- und Kongressstandort national und international einen ausgezeichneten Ruf. Dafür sorgen die Messen Essen und die zahlreichen weiteren Kongress- und Tagungsstätten in der Stadt.

 

Zur Messe Essen >

AUF EINEN BLICK:

VORTEILE MESSE- und
Kongressstandort

  • Rund 55 verschiedene Messen – davon 10 internationale Leitmessen
  • Jährlich ca. 1,5 Mio. Gäste aus über 160 Nationen
  • Rund 15.000 Aussteller aus 90 Nationen bei einem Auslandsanteil von fast 40 % am Messeplatz Essen
  • Eine Ausstellungsfläche von 110.000 m² und 20.000 m² Freigelände
  • Drei Kongresscenter mit 28 Kongressräumlichkeiten für bis zu 1.000 Personen, in denen jährlich rund 800 Veranstaltungen stattfinden
  • Grugahalle mit einer Kapazität von bis zu 10.000 Personen mit jährlich rund 70 Veranstaltungen

ESSEN ALS
TAGUNGS-
STANDORT

Am Standort Essen finden Sie den perfekten Tagungsort für Ihr Unternehmen – ob digital, hybrid oder in einer Präsenzveranstaltung.
Auf Sie wartet eine Vielzahl attraktiver Eventlocations und Hotels, die sich sowohl zur Durchführung großer Kongresse und Tagungen als auch für weitere exklusive Veranstaltungen hervorragend eignen.

Jetzt anfragen!

GRÜNE
HAUPTSTADT
EUROPAS

Essen ist eine grüne Großstadt und festigt seinen Ruf als urbanes Zentrum mit hoher Aufenthaltsqualität auch durch den hohen Anteil an Naherholungsflächen, die sich auf dem gesamten Stadtgebiet verteilen. Parks, Naturschutzgebiete, Wälder, Seen und sonstige Freiräume machen knapp die Hälfte der Stadtfläche aus. Essens grüne Seite ist auch der Europäischen Kommission nicht entgangen. Die EU-Umweltkommission zeichnete die Stadt mit dem Titel „Grüne Hauptstadt Europas – Essen 2017“ aus.

Grüne Hauptstadt Agentur >
Ausgezeichnet von der EU-Umweltkommission mit dem Titel:

KULTUR
HAUPTSTADT
EUROPAS

Von A wie Aalto-Theater bis Z wie Zollverein – die Fülle kultureller Highlights reicht vom Norden bis zum Süden der Stadt. Nicht von ungefähr erhielt Essen stellvertretend für das Ruhrgebiet den Ehrentitel „Kulturhauptstadt Europas 2010“.

visitessen.de >

INNEN-
STADT

Essen war die erste Stadt Deutschlands mit einer Fußgängerzone – das war 1927. Mittlerweile prägen über 1.000 Warenhäuser und Geschäfte die City rund um die beiden Fußgängerzonen Kettwiger Straße und Limbecker Straße. Dabei reicht das Angebot von kleinen und inhabergeführten Fachgeschäften über die großen nationalen und internationalen Filialisten bis hin zu den Einkaufzentren Rathaus Galerie und Limbecker Platz. Letzteres ist mit 70.000 m² Verkaufsfläche und mehr als 200 Shops und Gastronomiebetrieben eines der größten innerstädtischen Einkaufszentren Deutschlands.

% buffered 00:00
00:00
00:00
Visit Essen Das sind die Menschen, die hier leben, die Orte, die sie lieben und das Miteinander, das genauso direkt wie herzlich ist.
Wollen Sie mehr über den Kultur- und Tourismusstandort Essen erfahren, dann schauen Sie hier vorbei:
visitessen.de
Dienste und Ämter der Stadt Essen finden Sie hier: