Industrial Estates in Essen

Five of the 50 and eight of the 100 highest turnover companies in Germany have their headquarters located in Essen. Together with approximately 23,200 small and medium-sized businesses they characterize the locational, economic force and make Essen one of the leading economic locations in Germany.

Central location and excellent infrastructure

The geographic location and very good traffic infrastructure underline, among many other factors, Essen’s locational strength. Essen’s central location offers businesses access to an extensive amount of customers, volume of turnover and staffing potential stemming not only from the approximately 5.1 million residents, but also from beyond the Ruhr metropolis itself.

Essen is quickly and easily accessible. Well-developed motorway and rail systems and four airports within a radius of 60 km provide fast connections within the Ruhr metropolis and to other national and international cities and conurbation areas.

Attractive for companies

The numerous advantages that Essen has to offer make the location attractive for companies of all branches. In Essen, there is a high demand for industrial and commercial sites not only with those companies already settled here, but also with companies wanting to settle in Essen.

Whether it is industrial and/or manufacturing facilities, wholesale companies, trades and crafts, restaurants and leisure-industry companies – Essen has a differentiated range of sites suitable for both industrial and commercial utilization. Sundry company requirements with regard to location, size, infrastructure and links to traffic systems are met with qualitatively, high-grade areas. The range of commercial areas on offer, covers designated industrial areas with direct access to railways and port facilities and the possibility of 24 hour operation, as well as business park sites meeting the demands for urban development and inner city areas with a utilization mix.

Transport connections and central location

Companies settle in Essen due to the good transport connections and the supra-regional centrality of business locations. All the business locations in Essen are in close proximity to at least one motorway that runs through the city area and connects the locations with Germany’s important east-west and north-south transport axes.

Essen’s central location ensures that the local business locations belong to those with the largest catchment area throughout NRW. Depending of which part of the city area the corresponding business is situated, more than 11 million people can access this location within a journey of one hour by car and more than 9 million by public transport – an enormous potential of workforce and customers, thus, making corporate settlement highly attractive.

Adequate price level

The range of business locations on offer is accompanied by differentiated price levels. The appraisal board for real estate value, assessing Essen’s property value, divides the sites ready for development and for commercial utilization into two categories. The properties for so-called "classic commercial utilization" are normally located in designated industrial estates and are used by a variety of industrial branches. In these areas administrative and retail utilization, in comparison to manufacturing and storage utilization, is of only minor importance. The land prices for classic industries without tertiary utilization is, in relation to site quality, between 60.00 €/m² and 150.00 €/m² free of utility installation costs. In individual cases, these approximate values can either fall short or be exceeded. Property prices for so-called more superior business can, according to location and utilization, exceed the above mentioned prices considerably.

In order to be able to satisfy future demands for business locations, the offers are being gradually increased by which existing business locations are being revitalised and modernised to meet current market requirements and the areas formerly used by the coal and steel industry are being refurbished for new utilization. For example, the site of the former coking plant Zollverein or the sites M2 and M3 in the "Krupp Gürtel" located north-west of Essen’s city center.

Your contact person

Andreas Hill
Authorised Signatory and Head of Real Estate
0201 / 820 24 36
E-mail

Gewerbegebiete in Essen

Sechs der 50 bzw. neun der 100 umsatzstärksten Unternehmen Deutschlands haben ihren Hauptsitz in Essen. Gemeinsam mit den rund 23.400 kleinen und mittleren Unternehmen prägen sie die Wirtschaftskraft am Standort und machen Essen zu einem der führenden Wirtschaftsstandorte in Deutschland.

Zentrale Lage und ausgezeichnete Infrastruktur

Essens geographische Lage und die sehr gute Verkehrsinfrastruktur machen neben vielen weiteren Faktoren die Stärke des Standortes aus. Durch die zentrale Lage Essens erschließt sich den hier ansässigen Unternehmen das enorme Kunden-, Absatz- und Arbeitskräftepotenzial der Metropole Ruhr mit ihren rund 5,1 Millionen Einwohnern und darüber hinaus.

Essen ist schnell und einfach zu erreichen. Ein optimal ausgebautes Autobahn- und Schienennetz und vier Flughäfen in einem Umkreis von rund 60 km sorgen für schnelle Verbindungen innerhalb der Metropole Ruhr und zu anderen nationalen und internationalen Städten und Ballungsräumen.

Attraktiv für Unternehmen

Die zahlreichen Vorteile, die Essen zu bieten hat, machen den Standort für Unternehmen aller Branchen attraktiv. Der Bedarf an Industrie- und Gewerbeflächen in Essen ist hoch – sowohl bei den bereits angesiedelten Firmen als auch bei Unternehmen, die sich in Essen ansiedeln wollen.

Ob Industrie- bzw. Produktionsbetriebe, Großhandelshandelsunternehmen, Handwerksbetriebe, Gastronomien oder Unternehmen der Freizeitwirtschaft – Essen hält ein differenziertes Angebot gewerblich-industriell nutzbarer und qualitativ hochwertiger Flächen vor, die in puncto Lage, Größe, Infrastruktur und Verkehrsanbindung den unterschiedlichen Anforderungen der Unternehmen gerecht werden. Das Spektrum der angebotenen Gewerbeflächen reicht vom Industriegebiet mit Gleis- und Hafenanschluss und der Möglichkeit zum 24-Stunden-Betrieb über den Gewerbepark mit städtebaulichem Gestaltungsanspruch bis hin zu innerstädtischen Gebieten mit Nutzungsmix.

Verkehrsanbindung und Zentralität

Unternehmen siedeln sich auch aufgrund der sehr guten Verkehrsanbindung und der überregionalen Zentralität der Gewerbestandorte in Essen an: Alle Essener Gewerbestandorte liegen in unmittelbarer Nähe zu mindestens einer der Autobahnen, die durch das Stadtgebiet führen und den Standort mit den deutschlandweit wichtigen Ost-West- und Nord-Süd-Verkehrsachsen verbinden.

Essens zentrale Lage sorgt zudem dafür, dass die hiesigen Gewerbestandorte NRW-weit zu denjenigen mit dem größten Einzugsbereich gehören. Je nach Lage im Stadtgebiet erreichen über 11 Millionen Menschen die jeweiligen Essener Gewerbestandorte innerhalb einer Stunde mit dem Auto und mehr als 9 Millionen Menschen mit den öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln – ein riesiges Potenzial an Arbeitskräften und Kunden, welches eine Unternehmensansiedlung hier höchst attraktiv macht.

Adäquates Preisniveau

Mit der Bandbreite der angebotenen Gewerbegrundstücke geht auch ein differenziertes Preisniveau einher. Dabei ordnet der Gutachterausschuss für Grundstückswerte in der Stadt Essen die baureifen Grundstücke für die Gewerbenutzung in zwei Kategorien ein. Die Grundstücke für das so genannte „klassische Gewerbe“ liegen in der Regel in ausgewiesenen Gewerbegebieten und werden branchenübergreifend genutzt. Die Verwaltungs- oder Einzelhandelsnutzung besitzt gegenüber der Produktions- und Lagernutzung dort nur eine untergeordnete Bedeutung. Die Grundstückspreise für das klassische Gewerbe ohne tertiäre Nutzung liegen im Preis je nach Lagequalität zwischen 75,00 €/m² und 165,00 €/m² erschließungsbeitragsfrei. Diese Richtwerte können in Einzelfällen unter- oder auch überschritten werden. Die Grundstückspreise für das so genannte „höherwertige Gewerbe“ können je nach Lage und Nutzung weit über dem oben genannten Höchstpreis liegen.

Um auch zukünftig die Nachfrage nach Gewerbeflächen in Essen befriedigen zu können, wird das Angebot sukzessive durch weitere Flächen bereichert, indem bestehende Gewerbestandorte revitalisiert und marktgerecht modernisiert werden und ehemals von der Montanindustrie genutzte Areale für neue Nutzungen aufbereitet werden, wie zum Beispiel das Gelände der Kokerei Zollverein oder die Flächen M2 und M3 im Krupp-Gürtel nord-westlich der Essener Innenstadt.

Unsere Website verwendet Cookies. Details regelt unsere Datenschutzerklärung.
OK