EWG

For Essen, for Businesses, for You


EWG - Essener Wirtschaftsförderungsgesellschaft mbH is the central point of contact and service partner for business commitment in Essen. Our range of services helps to secure jobs in Essen and to create the framework for successful business and to continually improve Essen’s economy.

We offer quick, confidential, competent advisory services and support relating to investment or local expansion, official approval procedures, provide information relating to public funding programmes, innovation or assist in the search for suitable real estate and commercial sites.

We are supported by numerous partners within the business sector, by associations and institutions and within politics and administration. Together we form a strong network for your business success.

EWG was launched as a Public Private Partnership (PPP) in 1991. The shareholders are – each with a 50% stake – the City of Essen and IEW - Interessengemeinschaft Essener Wirtschaft e.V with their approximately 50 renowned member companies and institutions. This focussed expertise makes EWG the ideal partner in Essen for businesses, investors and start-ups. In a nut shell, for you.

Our services for you:


  • Finding suitable real-estate and commercial sites
  • Settlement service
  • Support with local authorities and approval procedures
  • Advisory services relating to public funding programmes
  • Advisory services for start-ups
  • Promotion of innovation
  • Support with personnel recruitment
  • Contacts, networking and cooperation agreements
  • Location marketing

EWG Network

Die EWG

Für Essen, für Unternehmen, für Sie!


Als zentrale Anlauf- und Servicestelle der Wirtschaft fördert die EWG - Essener Wirtschaftsförderungsgesellschaft mbH unternehmerisches Engagement am Standort Essen. Mit unseren Serviceangeboten tragen wir dazu bei, Arbeitsplätze in Essen zu sichern und zu schaffen und die Rahmenbedingungen für den unternehmerischen Erfolg der Essener Wirtschaft stetig zu verbessern.

Ob bei Investitions- oder Expansionsvorhaben am Standort, behördlichen Genehmigungsverfahren, Fragen zu öffentlichen Förderprogrammen, Innovationen, oder bei der Suche nach Immobilien und Grundstücken – wir beraten und unterstützen Sie bei Ihren Vorhaben – kompetent, vertraulich und schnell.

Zahlreiche Partner aus Wirtschaft, Verbänden und aus Institutionen, Politik und Verwaltung stehen an unserer Seite. Gemeinsam bilden wir ein starkes Netzwerk für Ihren unternehmerischen Erfolg.

Die EWG besteht seit dem Jahr 1991 als Public Private Partnership. Gesellschafter sind – mit jeweils 50 Prozent – die Stadt Essen und die IEW - Interessengemeinschaft Essener Wirtschaft e.V. mit rund 50 renommierten Mitgliedsfirmen und -institutionen. Durch die gebündelten Kompetenzen von öffentlicher Hand und privater Wirtschaft ist die EWG der ideale Partner für Unternehmer, Investoren und Existenzgründer am Standort Essen – kurzum: für Sie!

Unser Service für Sie:


  • Immobilien- und Gewerbeflächenservice
  • Ansiedlungsservice
  • Unterstützung beim Behörden- und Genehmigungsmanagement
  • Fördermittelberatung
  • Gründungsberatung
  • Innovationsförderung
  • Unterstützung beim Personalrecruiting
  • Vermittlung von Kontakten, Netzwerken, Kooperationen
  • Standortmarketing

Das Netzwerk der EWG